Our Brussels Have Sprouted!

30 Mar

I did not become a love of Brussels sprouts until I was an adult. As a child and young adult, anything cabbage related made me gag. Even cauliflower made me shudder.

Now that I’m older and wiser, there’s nothing more delicious than roasted Brussels sprouts. Michael often adds it to our vegetable stir fries, and it’s just not the same without them.

Last year we bought some Brussels sprouts in the grocery store and they were still on the stalk. Neither of us had ever seen them sold that way, and had no idea that’s how they grew.

We knew we had to try and grow some ourselves. We planted three plants in our winter garden last October, not really knowing what to expect. All winter they sat there, getting taller and wider, but it wasn’t until a month ago that we detected the sprouts growing under the leaves and noticed the stalk getting taller.

I’m not really sure if we’ll get a good crop or not, especially now that the temperature has climbed into the 70’s and 80’s–and possibly the 90’s this weekend. It may be too warm for them grow much more, and I suspect the higher temps could make them taste bitter.

I love the way they sit nestled under the leaves of the plant. There’s something poetic about the sight of all that goodness hidden under the leaves.

Even if we can’t eat them, I loved growing them.

8 Responses to “Our Brussels Have Sprouted!”

  1. healthyhappy50ish 03/30/2012 at 12:57 PM #

    Love them and have never seen how they grow!!!

    • Angela 03/30/2012 at 1:04 PM #

      I know, isn’t it crazy! We will definitely grow more in the future. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Becky 03/30/2012 at 3:37 PM #

    They look beautiful. I’m the same way about Brussels sprouts. I never used to eat them as a child, but now, sometimes I crave them! Even my kids like them! 🙂

    • Angela 03/30/2012 at 4:30 PM #

      I never even cooked them when my kids were younger, but now they both love them, too. The other day I scored a full bag of Brussels sprouts at our local grocery store for $1.76. I was giddy thinking about all the ways I could cook them!

  3. skippingstones 03/30/2012 at 5:49 PM #

    That’s so cool! I still don’t like brussels sprouts, though 😦

    • Angela 03/30/2012 at 6:08 PM #

      Have you ever tried them roasted with olive oil and garlic? Yum!!!

      • skippingstones 03/30/2012 at 6:17 PM #

        No, and it’s not likely that I will 🙂

      • Angela 03/30/2012 at 6:24 PM #

        I guess we all have a food we hate. The only things I still really don’t like are water chestnuts and shredded coconut.

Leave a Reply

