Swiss Salad Dressing Recipe

24 Mar

There's nothing like salad from your own garden

The other day I wrote about growing loose leaf lettuce. You can’t eat salad without a great salad dressing, and I’d like to share how I make mine.

It’s super easy. I learned the basics of how to make it when I lived in Switzerland and I’ve tweaked it through the years.

Ingredients:

  • Stone ground mustard: 1 small spoonful
  • Vanilla Greek yogurt: 2 large spoonfuls
  • Raspberry vinegar: 1 large spoonful
  • Extra virgin olive oil: 2 large spoonfuls
  • Fresh herbs, like thyme, basil, oregano, chives (hopefully from your garden)
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • Kosher salt
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup minced onion

Mix together with a whisk, or place in a container with a lid and shake.

All measurements are approximate, so taste before serving.

You can omit the onion and garlic, of course, and add other spices. I always add fruit (strawberries, orange slices, apples) to my salads, with a little cheese, and the raspberry vinegar is always a great complement.

You can double or triple the amounts and make extra. It keeps well in the refrigerator for about a week.

Enjoy!

Greek oregano in the herb garden

My favorite herb, thyme

Chives

5 Responses to “Swiss Salad Dressing Recipe”

  1. skippingstones 03/24/2012 at 12:10 PM #

    This sounds yummy, except I’m not sure about the vanilla yogurt. What does the yogurt “do” for the dressing? If it’s needed for texture or thickness, can you use plain greek yogurt? But I’m thinking plain might be too tangy.

    • Angela 03/25/2012 at 3:25 PM #

      The yogurt is a substitute for mayonnaise, which is high in fat. You could certainly use any kind of yogurt you want, it doesn’t have to be Greek or vanilla. That’s my favorite yogurt, and it gives it a tangy sweetness that I like. I’m sure the plain would work as well.

      • skippingstones 03/25/2012 at 11:32 PM #

        I was just wondering, because I can have the greek yogurt on this “diet” plan I’m on, but not sure about the flavored kind. But your dressing sounds good and I can have it.

  2. Toni - Signature Gardens 06/26/2012 at 10:54 PM #

    Hey Y’all — fellow Texas gardener here 🙂 Just stumbled upon your blog. This salad dressing sounds wonderful. Always looking for salad dressings without all the sugar. Adding your blog to my blog roll 🙂

    • Mind Margins/Run Nature 06/27/2012 at 7:56 AM #

      Thanks, Toni. Hope you enjoy the salad dressing. It’s super easy to make and is pretty healthy, especially if you add fresh herbs.

Leave a Reply

